Pacific Coast

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly.

Washington

  1. Gateways for Incarcerated Youth Education & culture, gateways@evergreen.edu
  2. Denney Juvenile Justice Center Poetry and Art Workshop Mindy Hardwick, mindywriter@gmail.com
  3. Keeping the Faith – The Prison Project
  4. Sustainable Prisons Project Science, nature, and horticulture
  5. Yoga Behind Bars Natalie Smith, natalie@yogabehindbars.com
  6. Art Studio Pete Brook, prisonphotography@gmail.com
  7. University Beyond Bars info@universitybeyondbars.org
  8. Pongo Teen Writing Project info@pongoteenwriting.org
  9. Freehold Theatre (206) 323-7499, info@freeholdtheatre.org
  10. Underground Writing Matt Malyon, matt@undergroundwriting.org
  11. Prison Renaissance prisonrenaissance@gmail.com
  12. The Hero’s Journey Prison Writing Project Contact through this form

Oregon

  1. Inside-Out Oregon Academic and arts courses
  2. Eastern Oregon Correctional Institution Creative Arts program, annual Shakespeare production
  3. Center for Intercultural Dialogue – Prisons and Peace Kelley Totten, ktotten@uoregon.edu
  4. Write Around PortlandWrite Around Portland 503.796.9224, info@writearound.org
  5. Project HOPE Peggy Kendellen, pkendellen@racc.org
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. Open Hearts Open Minds Dialogue, theater, reentry, music carla@openheartsopenminds.net
  8. The Concertina Wire Radio Program University of Oregon, concertinaradio@gmail.com
  9. Janus Youth Programs Kathleen Fullerton, (503) 982-4454, kathleen.fullerton@oya.state.or.us
  10. Big House Kite (503) 841-8826, phil@bighousekite.org

California

  1. The Art of Yoga Project
  2. People’s Pottery Project
  3. InsideOUT Writers Mindy Velasco, Writing Program Director mindy@insideoutwriters.org or info@insideoutwriters.org
  4. Los Angeles Poverty Department 213-413-1077
  5. Poetic Justice Project Deborah Tobola, (805) 264-5463, staff@poeticjusticeproject.org
  6. Rising Voices of Community Works 415-734-2360, community_works@yahoo.com
  7. WritersCorps Melissa.Hung@sfgov.org
  8. Write and Rise Margo Perin, mperin@writeandrise.com
  9. Pelican Bay Speaks pelicanbayspeaks@gmail.com
  10. The Actor’s Gang Prison Project Sabra Williams, prisonproject@theactorsgang.com
  11. The Medea Project
  12. William James Association Prison Arts Project
  13. We Players Alcatraz 2011
  14. Prison University Project Creative performances
  15. Prison Yoga Project James Fox, james@prisonyoga.com
  16. The Knotted Line Evan Bissell, evanbissell@gmail.com
  17. Five Keys Charter School SISTER, Garden Project
  18. GOGI Yoga amy@gettingoutbygoingin.org
  19. Santa Cruz County Inmate Programs M’Liss Keesling, SHF215@co.santa-cruz.ca.us
  20. Brothers in Pen: Wednesday Night Creative Writing Class at San Quentin brothersinpen@yahoo.com
  21. The Roots and Wings Project therootsandwingsproject@gmail.com
  22. Each One Reach One (650) 225-9030, info@eoro.org
  23. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  24. Resolve to Stop the Violence (RSVP), admin@resolvetostoptheviolencesf.org
  25. Prison Library Project Annual Exhibition, Rachel McDonnell, rachel@prisonlibraryproject.org
  26. Jail Guitar Doors Contact@JailGuitarDoors.org
  27. Prisoners Literature Project Prisonlit@gmail.com
  28. Albert Cobarrubias Justice Project – Social Biographies raj@siliconvalleydebug.org
  29. Beyond this Prison beyondthisprison@gmail.com
  30. Give a Beat info@giveabeat.org
  31. Inside the Reels at Vista Jail – Christina Fink, Founder, inside.the.reels@gmail.com
  32. Prison Arts Touching Hearts (P.A.T.H.) Leslie Lakes, prisonartstouchinghearts@gmail.com
  33. Arts for Incarcerated Youth Network (AIYN) (310) 962-6000, info@aiynetwork.org
  34. Prison Renaissance prisonrenaissance@gmail.com
  35. Marin Shakespeare Company  Lesley Schisgall Currier, management@marinshakespeare.org
  36. Project PAINT: The Prison Arts INiTiave info@projectpaint.org, (619) 500-2780
  37. Playwrights Project ckouma@playwrightsproject.org, (858) 384-2970
  38. Unlock Tomorrow info@unlocktomorrow.org
  39. Words Uncaged Wordsuncagedinfo@gmail.com
  40. The Artistic Ensemble at San Quentin, artistic.ensemble.sq@gmail.com
  41. Arts in Corrections info@arts.ca.gov
  42. FirstWatch info@restorecal.orh, 415-735-3035
  43. ABO Comix abocomix@gmail.com
  44. The Old Globe AEinfo@theoldglobe.org
  45. Mid-City Community Music info@sdcommunitymusic.org, 619-200-7498
  46. The Write of Your Life  
  47. Acting with Compassion & Truth ACTatSQ@gmail.com, 415-488-6773
  48. A New Way of Life Reentry Project info@anewwayoflife.org 323-563-3575
  49. Prison Arts Collective prisonartscollective.info@gmail.com

Hawaii

  1. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  2. Learning Center at Halawa Correctional Facility Hawaiian chant and dance, Hawaiian language, music, yoga, meditation
  3. Pu’a Foundation Info@puafoundation.org
  4. Community-Engaged Creative Writing slryan@hawaii.edu

Alaska

  1. Hiland Mountain Correctional Center Women’s String Orchestra
  2. Wildwood Correctional Center Crochet Project
  3. Flying University at University of AK Southeast sjneely@uas.alaska.edu, ehhayes@alaska.edu