New England

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

Massachusetts

  1. And Still We Rise  Dev Luthra, 857.719.3884, andstillwerise@gmail.com
  2. Changing Lives Through Literature (508) 999-8752, cltl@umassd.edu
  3. Voices from Inside , info@voicesfrominside.org
  4. Inside/Outside Envelope Project Phyllis Kornfeld, envelopeartpk@gmail.com
  5. Actors’ Shakespeare Project (617) 776-2200, info@actorsshakespeareproject.org
  6. On With Living and Learning, Inc.  mcdaspire@gmail.com
  7. Artistic Noise Vanessa Ruiz, vanessa.ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  8. PEN New England Creative Writing Workshop Helen Elaine Lee
  9. Moving Steps Foundation Dance, Adrianne Tabet, adrianne.tabet@comcast.net

Rhode Island

  1. Visual art classes and art exhibition Marietta Cleasby, bootscleasby@aol.com
  2. AS220 Youth Anne Kugler, anne@as220.org
  3. Prison Mindfulness Institute
  4. CCRI Art History/Studio Course Nancy Wyllie, arthigh@cox.net
  5. Harvest Kitchen Chef Jen Stott, chefjen@farmfreshri.org 
  6. Power to the Poets (2009) Lisa Starr, lisastarr1@mindspring.com
  7. Garden Time Kate LaCouture, kate@greencircledesign.net
  8. Everett Company Stage School – Freedom Project info@everettri.org, (401) 831-9479

Connecticut

  1. Judy Dworin Performance Project (JDPP) JDPPinc@gmail.com
  2. Avodah Dance Ensemble avodahdance@gmail.com
  3. Community Partners in Action Jeffrey Greene, 860-722-9450, jgreene@cpa-ct.org
  4. HartBeat Ensemble, Steve Ginsburg, ginsburg@bu.edu
  5. Center for Prison Education at Wesleyan University,  Allie Cislo, acislo@Wesleyan.edu 

Maine

  1. Maine Inside/Out maineinsideout@gmail.com
  2. Transom – Blunt Youth Radio Incarcerated Youth Speak Out
  3. Guitar Doors

Vermont

  1. Writing Inside VT womenwritingvt@gmail.com
  2. Telling My Story, tellingmystorymedia@gmail.com