New England

Please note: The Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

New Hampshire

  1. New Hampshire State Prison for Women Poetry workshop
  2. Telling My Story, tellingmystorymedia@gmail.com

Massachusetts

  1. And Still We Rise  Dev Luthra, 857.719.3884, andstillwerise@gmail.com
  2. Changing Lives Through Literature (508) 999-8752, cltl@umassd.edu
  3. Voices from Inside , info@voicesfrominside.org
  4. Boston University Prison Education Program Arts courses
  5. Inside/Outside Envelope Project Phyllis Kornfeld, envelopeartpk@gmail.com
  6. Actors’ Shakespeare Project (617) 776-2200, info@actorsshakespeareproject.org
  7. Shakespeare & Company – Shakespeare in the Courts Jonathan Croy, jcroy@shakespeare.org
  8. On With Living and Learning, Inc.  mcdaspire@gmail.com
  9. Blackout Arts Collective boston@blackoutartscollective.com
  10. Artistic Noise Vanessa Ruiz, vanessa.ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  11. Black & Pink Art blackandpinkart@gmail.com 
  12. MCI-Concord Art, Music Theory, Poetry, Creative Writing, Read To Me Daddy Program
  13. Writing Workshop – Offender Re-entry Program (ORP)  
  14. PEN New England Creative Writing Workshop Helen Elaine Lee
  15. Moving Steps Foundation Dance, Adrianne Tabet, adrianne.tabet@comcast.net

Rhode Island

  1. Space in Prison for the Arts and Creative Expression (SPACE) Janet Isserlis, Janet_Isserlis@brown.edu, prison@brown.edu
  2. Visual art classes and art exhibition Marietta Cleasby, bootscleasby@aol.com
  3. AS220 Youth Anne Kugler, anne@as220.org
  4. Prison Mindfulness Institute
  5. The Sandra Feinstein-Gamm Theatre’s Hamlet Project Steve Kidd, 401-723-4266, steve@gammtheatre.org
  6. CCRI Art History/Studio Course Nancy Wyllie, arthigh@cox.net
  7. Harvest Kitchen Chef Jen Stott, chefjen@farmfreshri.org 
  8. Power to the Poets (2009) Lisa Starr, lisastarr1@mindspring.com
  9. Garden Time Kate LaCouture, kate@greencircledesign.net
  10. Everett Company Stage School – Freedom Project info@everettri.org, (401) 831-9479
  11. Theater of Hope Crystal Tiala, tiala@bc.edu

Connecticut

  1. Judy Dworin Performance Project (JDPP) JDPPinc@gmail.com
  2. Avodah Dance Ensemble avodahdance@gmail.com
  3. Community Partners in Action Jeffrey Greene, 860-722-9450, jgreene@cpa-ct.org
  4. The Dante Project Ronald Jenkins, 860-685-2595, rjenkins@wesleyan.edu
  5. York Correctional Institution Joe Lea, 860-691-6814, careenjennings@sbcglobal.net
  6. Blackout Arts Collective 203-500-1225, newhaven@blackoutartscollective.com
  7. New Beginnings: Rehabilitation Workshop and Resettlement Program, Deb Rogala, drogala@cpa-ct.org
  8. HartBeat Ensemble, Steve Ginsburg, ginsburg@bu.edu
  9. Yale Prison Education Initiative at Dwight Hall ypei@dwighthall.org
  10. Trinity Prison Seminar Series (TPSS) Judy.Dworin@trincoll.edu, Sheila.Fisher@trincoll.edu, Joseph.Lea@trincoll.edu, Teresita.Romero@trincoll.edu
  11. Center for Prison Education at Wesleyan Universitynbarth@wesleyan.edu, kinglis@wesleyan.edu, cpefellow@wesleyan.edu

Maine

  1. Maine Inside/Out maineinsideout@gmail.com
  2. Art At Work Linking municipal employees, elected officials, and local artists
  3. Transom – Blunt Youth Radio Incarcerated Youth Speak Out
  4. Guitar Doors
  5. Maine State Prison Prison Industries and Art Therapy at the Intensive Mental Health Unit

Vermont

  1. Vermont Action for Political Prisoners Art exhibition, vermontaction@gmail.com
  2. Community High School of Vermont 802-951-5037, charity.baker@state.vt.us
  3. Writing Inside VT womenwritingvt@gmail.com