Midwest

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly.

Wisconsin

  1. The Shakespeare Prison Project Jonathan Shailor, shailor@uwp.edu
  2. Oakhill Prison Humanities Project oakhillprisonhumanitiesproject@gmail.com

Michigan

  1. Prison Creative Arts Project (PCAP) Vanessa Mayesky, 734-647-6771, pcapinfo@umich.edu
  2. Shakespeare Behind Bars info@shakespearebehindbars.org
  3. 6 Figures Playback Theatre Company Prison Theatre Program, Dr. Anita Rich,  734-487-0797, arich@emich.edu
  4. ARRO Prison Poetry Project
  5. ACE Academy – Visual Art Classes and Empty Bowls
  6. Project Community, 734-764-6324, projectcommunity@umich.edu
  7. Shakespeare Behind Bars, Curt L. Tofteland, curt@shakespearebehindbars.org
  8. Humanize the Numbers info@humanizethenumbers.com
  9. Children’s Literacy Network – Staying in Closer Touch 734-645-1320, Elizabeth@childrensliteracynetwork.org
  10. Youth Arts Unlocked, youtharts.unlocked@gmail.com

Illinois

  1. Still Point Theatre Collective, 773-868-1700, stillpointc@aol.com
  2. FreeWrite Jail Arts + Literacy Program ryan@freewritejailarts.org
  3. Storycatchers Theatre Nancy McCarty, 312.280.4772, nmccarty@storycatcherstheatre.org
  4. Champaign County Juvenile Detention Center Arts Project Alex Moroz, amoroz08@gmail.com
  5. Write to Release, info@writetorelease.org
  6. Prison + Neighborhood Arts Project contactpnap@gmail.com
  7. Cradle2Prison Project, cradle2prison@gmail.com
  8. Circles & Ciphers, restorative justice through the arts, Circles.Ciphers@gmail.com

Ohio

  1. Grafton Prison Choir, Jody Kerchner, jody.kerchner@oberlin.edu
  2. Toledo Museum of Art partnership with the Lucas County Juvenile Court  Glassblowing & metalwork
  3. Ohio Prison Arts Connection info@ohioprisonartsconnection.org
  4. Reentry Bridge Network
  5. ID13 Prison Literacy Project

Missouri

  1. The Staging Program at Pulitzer Arts Foundation 314-754-1850

North Dakota

  1. Annual North Dakota State Penitentiary Arts and Crafts Sale

South Dakota

  1. Yankton Minimum Unit Garden
  2. 4pm Count Writing and Publishing james.reese@mtmc.edu

Kansas

  1. Arts in Prison info@artsinprison.org or 913.403.0229
  2. Offender Victim Ministries info@offendervictimministries.org, (316) 283-2038

Minnesota

  1. Minnesota Correctional Facility – Stillwater Fine Arts Painting Program
  2. Soul of Red Wing Bea Hasselmann, beahasselmann@gmail.com
  3. Minnesota Correctional Facility – Shakopee Yoga, Mary Jo Parker, mparker@directionsresearch.com
  4. Direct Action Theatre at the Ramsey County CC Heidi Arneson, (612) 333-6816, heidihouse1@yahoo.com
  5. Critical Poetry Project Pauline Geraci
  6. Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop Creative writing, info@mnprisonwriting.org
  7. Voices of Hope Women’s Choir, Minnesota Correctional Facility-Shakopee, Amanda Weber, amanda.k.weber@gmail.com
  8. Ten Thousand Things Theater contact@tenthousandthings.org

Iowa

  1. Oakdale Prison Community Choir Mary Cohen, mary-cohen@uiowa.edu, Facebook
  2. Liberal Arts in Prison Program guenther@grinnell.edu