South

Please note: The Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly.

Delaware

  1. Prison Education  maureen.whelan@doe.k12.de.us, 302-857-3340

Maryland

  1. Knitting Behind Bars Lynn Zwerling, lynnzwerling@verizon.net, 410 868 5129
  2. Artivate info@goartivate.org, 301-588-7525
  3. Carpe Diem Arts busygraham@carpediemarts.org, 301-466-0183
  4. Goucher Prison Education Partnership 410.337.6033, GPEP.inquiries@goucher.edu

Virginia

  1. Art program at Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail info@acrj.org, 434-977-6981
  2. The Messages Project list@themessagesproject.org
  3. Open Minds dcoogan@vcu.edu, 804.828.1331
  4. Inspiration Matterz
  5. Heard jahcollins@gmail.com
  6. Art for the Journey info@artforthejourney.org, 804-784-5357
  7. Humanities Behind Bars humanitiesbehindbarseducation@gmail.com
  8. Amplify Music rebecca@amplifymusicva.org, (540) 718-5220

North Carolina

  1. North Carolina Division of Prisons Annual Creative Writing Contest, Annual Inmate Art Show
  2. Prison Books Collective prisonbooks@gmail.com, (919) 443-9238
  3. Nash Correctional Institutions 252-459-4455
  4. Hidden Voices Lynden Harris, lharris@hiddenvoices.org
  5. Working Narratives info@workingnarratives.org
  6. Inside Out at Warren Wilson Contact through this form, 1-800-934-3536
  7. Avery Mitchell CI in Spruce Pine (828) 765-0229
  8. Beyond Prison Artist Alliance– an art program at Avery Mitchell Correctional Institution in Spruce Pine. Contact Sarah Rose Lejeune at sarahroselejeune@gmail.com or beyondprisonartistalliance@gmail.com
  9. Justice Arts Initiative, Bechtler Museum of Modern Art in Detention Center Central and Juvenile Detention Center North, Charlotte NC. Contact mykell.gatesjamil@bechtler.org 

  10. Creative Writing: Joseph Bathanti, Poet Laureate of NC, teaches writing in prisons, 828-262-2337, bathantjr@appstate.edu

Georgia

  1. Reforming Arts   reformingarts@gmail.com
  2. Blackout Arts Collective atlanta@blackoutartscollective.com
  3. Synchronicity Theatre info@synchrotheatre.com

Florida

  1. ArtSpring Leslie Neal, artspring@artspring.org
  2. Art Program at Everglades Correctional Institute, Alejandra Chirinos, alechiri93@hotmail.com
  3. Exchange for Change 305-771-3241
  4. NOMAD Art Bus hello@nomadartbus.org
  5. O, Miami
  6. Open Books Bookstore & Prison Book Projectopenbookspcola@riseup.net

Arkansas

  1. The Northwest Arkansas Prison Story Project 479-871-4875, prisonstoryproject@gmail.com
  2. Compassion Works for All (501) 508-4334

Louisiana

  1. Angola Prison (225) 655-2592 
  2. Blackout Arts Collective (504) 339- 3154, neworleans@blackoutartscollective.com
  3. Operation Restoration’s info@or-nola.org
    (504) 684-9222
  4. Louisiana Prison Education Coalition 504-233-2522, laprisoneducationcoalition@gmail.com

Kentucky

  1. Shakespeare Behind Bars, Curt L. Tofteland, curt@shakespearebehindbars.org
  2. Calls from Home Radio Program esanders@appalshop.org, wmmtfm@appalshop.org, 606-633-0108
  3. Voices Inside-Northpoint Plays northpointplays@gmail.com, (859) 236-2747

Tennessee

  1. LIFE Program Richard Goode, richard.goode@lipscomb.edu, 615.966.5748 ext. 5748 

Mississippi

  1. Prison Writes Initiative (VOX Press), 662-816-4775, louis-bourgeois@hotmail.com

Alabama

  1. The Alabama Prison Arts + Education Project  334-844-8946, apaepau@auburn.edu
  2. “Corrections” Serial Drama at Donaldson Correctional Facility contact@correctionssurvival.com
  3. Voices of the Incarcerated present Liberated Voices info@jeffersoncountymemorial.com