South

Please note: The Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly.

Delaware

  1. Avodah Dance Ensemble avodahdance@gmail.com
  2. Prison Arts Program Delaware Dept of Corrections

Maryland

  1. Maryland Correctional Institution – Hagerstown (MCI-H) Annual Art Exhibition
  2. Knitting Behind Bars Lynn Zwerling, lynnzwerling@verizon.net
  3. ReWired for Change
  4. Artivate
  5. Carpe Diem Arts
  6. Goucher Prison Education Partnership

Virginia

  1. Art program at Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail
  2. Prison Theatre Workshop course Betsy Rudelich Tucker, art9y@virginia.edu
  3. The Messages Project list@themessagesproject.org
  4. Visual Art at Wallens Ridge State Prison
  5. Open Minds dcoogan@vcu.edu
  6. Inspiration Matterz
  7. Heard jahcollins@gmail.com

West Virginia

  1. Giving Back with Heart Prisoner Art Auction

North Carolina

  1. North Carolina Division of Prisons Annual Creative Writing Contest, Annual Inmate Art Show
  2. Creative Writing: Joseph Bathanti, Poet Laureate of NC, teaches writing in prisons, 828-262-2337, bathantjr@appstate.edu
  3. Internationalist Prison Books Collective prisonbooks@gmail.com
  4. Art class at Nash Correctional Institution
  5. Hidden Voices Lynden Harris, lharris@hiddenvoices.org
  6. Working Narratives info@workingnarratives.org
  7. Art program at Avery Mitchell CI in Spruce Pine sarahroselejeune@gmail.com
  8. Jail Arts Initiative in Charlotte-Mecklenburg, annabelmanning@gmail.com
  9. Inside Out at Warren Wilson Contact through this form
  10. Chatham YDC String Ensemble bsuhler@uncg.org

South Carolina

1. Spartanburg County Detention Center Therapeutic arts programming, Deputy Robert Duclos, Programs Coordinator, 864-596-2607, ext. 115 and rduclos@spartanburgcounty.org

Georgia

  1. Reforming Arts  Wende Ballew, reformingarts@gmail.com
  2. Blackout Arts Collective atlanta@blackoutartscollective.com
  3. The Prison Sketchbook Project
  4. Synchronicity Theatre info@synchrotheatre.com

Florida

  1. ArtSpring Leslie Neal, artspring@artspring.org
  2. Art Program at Everglades Correctional Institute, Alejandra Chirinos, alechiri93@hotmail.com
  3. Exchange for Change 305-771-3241
  4. O, Miami
  5. Open Books Bookstore & Prison Book Projectopenbookspcola@riseup.net

Arkansas

  1. The Northwest Arkansas Prison Story Project 479-871-4875, prisonstoryproject@gmail.com

Louisiana

  1. ArtSpot Productions – LCIW Drama Club 504.826.7783, info@artspotproductions.org
  2. Louisiana State Prison at Angola Arts and Crafts Festival at Angola Rodeo
  3. Blackout Arts Collective (504) 339- 3154, neworleans@blackoutartscollective.com
  4. Music Program at Angola Prison Rita Chiarelli, mail@ritachiarelli.com 
  5. Louisiana Prison Education Coalition 504-233-2522, laprisoneducationcoalition@gmail.com

Kentucky

  1. Shakespeare Behind Bars, Curt L. Tofteland, curt@shakespearebehindbars.org
  2. Calls from Home Radio Program Sylvia Ryerson, sylvia@appalshop.org
  3. Bars to Walls exhibition Kathy Solomon, 502-727-7368, chava31@aol.com
  4. Northpoint Plays northpointplays@gmail.com

Tennessee

  1.  Prison Art Project Michael McBride, 615-963-7483, mmcbride@tnstate.edu
  2. LIFE Program Richard Goode, richard.goode@lipscomb.edu 
  3. Reading and discussion group at Riverbend Maximum Security Institution, Lisa Guenther, lisa.guenther@vanderbilt.edu, 615-322-7332
  4. Arts Inside artsinside@artsinside2.org

Mississippi

  1. The Core Arts Initiative Allison Winstead, 601-359-6546, awinstead@arts.ms.gov
  2. Prison Writes Initiative (VOX Press), 662-816-4775, louis-bourgeois@hotmail.com

Alabama

  1. The Alabama Prison Arts + Education Project  Kyes Stevens, stevemk@auburn.edu
  2. “Corrections” Serial Drama at Donaldson Correctional Facility Connie Kohler, ckohler@uab.edu