Southwest

Please note: The Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

Arizona

  1. Inside/OUT Experience (Video)
  2. It’s Not Just Black and White Gregory Sale, Sale.Gregory@gmail.com
  3. AZ Dept of Corrections Recreational Activities and Hobby Crafts
  4. The Beat Within  Creative Writing, David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  5. The Thoughtful Warrior Program Dr. Melanie Ohm, melanie@conceptsconsultinggroup.com,  (480)510-2377
  6. Prison Education Awareness Club Arizona State University  peac.org@asu.edu
  7. Lannan Literary Grant prison writing program University of Arizona
  8. Prison Education Programming (PEP) Cornelia.Wells@asu.edu
  9. Prison Education Project  uawriting@email.arizona.edu

New Mexico

  1. Comienzos  Yoga, Nonviolent Communication, creative writing, art, William Poehner, Director, wpoehner@gmail.com, (505) 715-6918
  2. The Beat Within  Creative Writing, David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  3. JustWrite  Creative Writing, Carlos Contreras, justwritenm@gmail.com
  4. Voice Behind Walls Lee Rhyanes, voicesbehindwalls@gmail.com
  5. Reel Fathers Film & fatherhood, Deborah Boldt, Executive Director, deborah.reelfathers@gmail.com, 505-466-2295
  6. Fresh Eyes Photography Project Karen McCullough, Executive Director, info@fresheyesproject.org
  7. Keshet Dance Company – M3 Program (Movement + Mentorship = Metamorphosis) Shira Greenberg, Artistic Director, shira@keshetdance.org, 505-224-9808

Oklahoma

  1. ArtsAloud-OSU at the John Lilley Correctional Complex, Jodi Jinks, jodi.jinks@okstate.edu, 405-744-3826
  2. Louder Than a Bomb – Tulsa Kent W. Martin, Program Coordinator, kmartin@ahct.org, 310-600-7099
  3. Poetic Justice poeticjusticeokla@gmail.com

Texas

  1. Center for Community Arts Texas State University – San Marcos
  2. Blackout Arts Collective houston@blackoutartscollective.com
  3. Prison Dharma Network  Miksang contemplative photography, info@prisondharmanetwork.org
  4. Voices Behind Walls Lee Rhyanes, voicesbehindwalls@gmail.com
  5. Truth Be Told: Exploring Creativity Peggy Lamb, peggy.lamb@sbcglobal.net
  6. Arts Field Trips for Probationers, State District Judge Bill Moody
  7. Children’s Prison Arts Project Birgit Walker, childrensprisonart@sbcglobal.net, 713.520.7661
  8. Gemini Ink Creative writing, jknox@geminiink.org