Pacific Coast

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly.

Washington

  1. Sustainable Prisons Project Science, nature, and horticulture
  2. Yoga Behind Bars info@yogabehindbars.org
  3. University Beyond Bars info@universitybeyondbars.org
  4. Pongo Teen Writing Project info@pongoteenwriting.org
  5. Freehold Theatre (206) 323-7499, info@freeholdtheatre.org
  6. Underground Writing Matt Malyon, matt@undergroundwriting.org; info@undergroundwriting.org
  7. Prison Renaissance prisonrenaissance@gmail.com
  8. The Hero’s Journey Prison Writing Project Contact through this form
  9. Gateways for Incarcerated Youth (360) 867-6000

Oregon

  1. Eastern Oregon Correctional Institution (503) 945-9090; Creative Arts program, annual Shakespeare production
  2. Write Around Portland 503.796.9224, info@writearound.org
  3. Open Hearts Open Minds Dialogue, theater, reentry, music info@ohomoregon.org
  4. Inside-Out Oregon Academic and arts courses
  5. Center for Intercultural Dialogue – Prisons and Peace Kelley Totten, ktotten@uoregon.edu
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. The Concertina Wire Radio Program University of Oregon, concertinaradio@gmail.com
  8. Big House Kite (503) 841-8826, phil@bighousekite.org
  9. Janus Youth Programs Kathleen Fullerton, (503) 982-4454, kathleen.fullerton@oya.state.or.us

California

  1. The Art of Yoga Project
  2. People’s Pottery Project
  3. InsideOUT Writers Mindy Velasco, Writing Program Director mindy@insideoutwriters.org or office@insideoutwriters.org, 323.660.1866
  4. Los Angeles Poverty Department 213-413-1077, info@lapovertydept.org
  5. Poetic Justice Project Deborah Tobola, (805) 264-5463, staff@poeticjusticeproject.org
  6. Community Works info@communityworkswest.org, 510.268.8116
  7. The Actor’s Gang Prison Project Sabra Williams, prisonproject@theactorsgang.com, (310) 838-4264
  8. William James Association Prison Arts Project info@williamjamesassociation.org, (831) 607-8952
  9. We Players Alcatraz 2011 info@weplayers.org, 415-547-0189
  10. Prison University Project Creative performances, info@prisonuniversityproject.org, 415 455 8088
  11. Prison Yoga Project James Fox, james@prisonyoga.com
  12. The Knotted Line Evan Bissell, evanbissell@gmail.com
  13. Five Keys Charter School SISTER, Garden Project, info@fivekeyscharter.org, (415) 734-3310
  14. GOGI Yoga amy@gettingoutbygoingin.org, 3039091384
  15. Santa Cruz County Inmate Programs cchase@cityofsantacruz.com – Cynthia Chase
  16. Brothers in Pen: Wednesday Night Creative Writing Class at San Quentin brothersinpen@gmail.com
  17. The Roots and Wings Project blissrootsandwings@gmail.com
  18. Each One Reach One 
  19. Prison Library Project (909) 626-3066, claremontforum@gmail.com
  20. Jail Guitar Doors info@jailguitardoors.org, (323) 651-2816
  21. Prisoners Literature Project Prisonlit@gmail.com
  22. Albert Cobarrubias Justice Project – Social Biographies raj@siliconvalleydebug.org
  23. Give a Beat info@giveabeat.org
  24. Prison Arts Touching Hearts (P.A.T.H.) Leslie Lakes, prisonartstouchinghearts@gmail.com
  25. Arts for Healing and Justice Network (AHJN) admin@ahjnetwork.org
  26. Prison Renaissance info@prisonrenaissance.org
  27. Marin Shakespeare Company  Lesley Schisgall Currier, management@marinshakespeare.org
  28. Project PAINT: The Prison Arts INiTiave info@projectpaint.org, (619) 500-2780
  29. Playwrights Project ckouma@playwrightsproject.org, (858) 384-2970
  30. Unlock Tomorrow 
  31. The Artistic Ensemble at San Quentin, artistic.ensemble.sq@gmail.com
  32. California Arts in Corrections info@arts.ca.gov
  33. ABO Comix abocomix@gmail.com
  34. The Old Globe AEinfo@theoldglobe.org
  35. Mid-City Community Music info@sdcommunitymusic.org, 619-200-7498
  36. The Write of Your Life information@thewriteofyourlife.org
  37. Acting with Compassion & Truth ACTatSQ@gmail.com, 415-488-6773
  38. A New Way of Life Reentry Project info@anewwayoflife.org 323-563-3575
  39. Prison Arts Collective prisonartscollective.info@gmail.com
  40. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, 415-890-5641

Hawaii

  1. Pu’a Foundation info@puafoundation.net, (808) 945-3570
  2. Community-Engaged Creative Writing ugradeng@hawaii.edu

Alaska

  1. Hiland Mountain Correctional Center Women’s String Orchestra
  2. Flying University at University of AK Southeast