Mid-Atlantic

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

New York

  1. Rehabilitation Through the Arts 914-251-7540 or info@rta-arts.org
  2. The Fortune Society 347-510-3668 or www.fortunesociety.org
  3. The Creative ‘Righting’ Center Long-distance program (see Indiana)
  4. CASES Insight Project  212-553-6633, info@cases.org
  5. NY State Literary Center Dale Davis, 585-223-0784, ddavis@nyslc.org
  6. PEN American Center Prison Writing Program prisonwriting@pen.org
  7. Bard Prison Initiative 845.758.7308, bpi@bard.edu
  8. Cornell Prison Education Program: Arts courses, Writer’s Bloc Literary Journal
  9. Fortune Society, (212) 691-7554, info@fortunesociety.org
  10. Right to Write, 914.337.0700, partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  11. Blackout Arts Collective
  12. EarSay 718-791-4324, info@earsay.org
  13. Artistic Noise Vanessa.Ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  14. The Art of Living Prison SMART 866-673-8999, prisonsmart@iahv.org 
  15. Avodah Dance Ensemble, dance programming at Bedford Hills CF, avodahdance@gmail.com
  16. Hip Hop Justice Radio 94.9 FM Hudson Valley, NY 
  17. Milk Not Jails (917) 719-MILK, milknotjails@gmail.com 
  18. Theatre of the Oppressed NYC (646) 504-4582, info@theatreoftheoppressednyc.org
  19. RELEASED – Center for Employment Opportunities Jeyhoun Allebaugh, jeyhoun@gmail.com
  20. Carnegie Hall Musical Connections (at Sing Sing CF) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  21. Carnegie Hall’s Lullaby Project (at the Rose M. Singer Center at Rikers Island) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  22. Theatre-in-Education: Prison Production juliagtaylor@gmail.com 
  23. Public Theatre – The Mobile Unit 212-539-8500, marketing@publictheater.org
  24. New York Writers Coalition (NYWC) – Formerly Incarcerated/Prison Writers Program Nancy Weber, nancy@nywriterscoalition.org
  25. Think Outside the Cell (877) 267-2303, thinkoutsidethecell@verizon.net
  26. The Young New Yorkers Restorative justice through public art
  27. Lyrics from Lockdown National tour of hip hopera
  28. Prisoner Express (distance learning available to people in prison across the US)  Treacy Ziegler, treacyziegler@yahoo.com
  29. The Phoenix Players Theatre Group Bruce Levitt, BAL5@cornell.edu
  30. Attica Correctional Facility – The Attica Writer’s Workshop and the Attica – Genesee Teaching Project Doran Larson, dlarson@hamilton.edu
  31. Truthworker Theatre Company truthworker@gmail.com, 917-771-7475
  32. Music on the Inside Alina Bloomgarden, info@musicontheinside.org, 212-580-6225
  33. Prison Writes Therapeutic, advocacy, memoir writing
  34. Theater Across Prison Walls Rivka Rocchio, rocchisr@potsdam.edu
  35. Sarah Lawrence College Right-to-Write partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  36. Four Minutes a Day goochlm@gmail.com
  37. Dances for Solidarity dancesforsolidarity@gmail.com
  38. The Town Hall lnoble@thetownhall.org
  39. Musicambia jessie@musicambia.org
  40. Flex Dance Program flexdanceprogram@gmail.com
  41. Otisville Theatre Workshop: Acting Out richardhoehler@ymail.com, 917-767-1550
  42. Center for Court Innovation Arts and Justice initiatives

Pennsylvania

  1. Mural Arts Program Restorative Justice Robyn Buseman, robyn.buseman@muralarts.org, 215-685-0756
  2. The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program Steven Shankman, 215-204-5163, insideout@temple.edu
  3. Words Without Walls info@wordswithoutwalls.com
  4. SageWriters Judith Trustone, 610-328-6101, info@Sagewriters.org
  5. The Pennsylvania Prison Society – The Working Group to Enhance Services for Incarcerated Women Ann Schwartzman, 215.564.6005, baizenman@prisonsociety.org
  6. Books Through Bars 215-727-8170, info@booksthroughbars.org
  7. Pennsylvania Horticultural Society Roots to Re-Entry Project
  8. Brush With the Law at Montgomery County Correctional FacilityMaria Maneos
  9. The People’s Paper Co-op
  10. Shining Light performing arts, Jeffrey Bohn jeff@shining-light.com
  11. Songs in the Key of Free songwriting, musicianship, concerts
  12. Lifelines Project lifelinesphilly@gmail.com
  13. Heart2Heart: Comienzos East info@heart2heartinc.org
  14. Youth Art & Self-Empowerment Project info@yasproject.com or 267-571-YASP

New Jersey

  1. The Institute for Prison Teaching and Outreach Literary Magazine, cpoe@tcnj.edu
  2. Perkins Center for the Arts create@perkinscenter.org
  3. NJ State Prison in Trenton Susanne Pitak Davis, Pitak1@earthlink.net
  4. Writers Theatre of New Jersey education@wtnj.org
  5. The New Jersey Scholarship and Transformative Education in Prisons Consortium (NJ-STEP) jeff.melillo@rutgers.edu , diamond7@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
  6. Heart2Heart: Comienzos East info@heart2heartinc.org

Washington, D.C.

  1. Free Minds Book Club (202) 758-0829, mail@freemindsbookclub.org
  2. Prison Fellowship International International art competitions and exhibitions
  3. Safe Streets Arts Foundation Dennis Sobin, dennis@safestreetsarts.org
  4. Prisons Foundation Dennis Sobin, Dennis@prisonsfoundation.org
  5. Blackout Arts Collective dc@blackoutartscollective.com
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. Voices Unbarred lori@voicesunbarred.com, (571) 357-2049
  8. Georgetown Prison Scholars Program prisonandjustice@georgetown.edu
  9. DC Books to Prisoners
  10. Lorton Art Program lortonart@verizon.net