Mid-Atlantic

Please note: The Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

New York

  1. Rehabilitation Through the Arts 914-251-7540 or info@rta-arts.org
  2. The Fortune Society 347-510-3668 or www.fortunesociety.org
  3. Voices Unbroken info@voicesunbroken.org, 917-736-8498
  4. The Creative ‘Righting’ Center Long-distance program (see Indiana)
  5. CASES Insight Project Dan Stageman, 212-553-6633, dstageman@cases.org
  6. NY State Literary Center Dale Davis, 585-223-0784, ddavis@nyslc.org
  7. PEN American Center Prison Writing Program prisonwriting@pen.org
  8. Bard Prison Initiative Arts courses
  9. Cornell Prison Education Program Arts courses, Writer’s Bloc Literary Journal
  10. Anne Frank Center USA Prison Diary Program info@annefrank.com
  11. Fortune Society
  12. Right to Write
  13. Black is the Day, Black is the Night
  14. Blackout Arts Collective
  15. EarSay 718-791-4324, info@earsay.org
  16. Artistic Noise Vanessa.Ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  17. The Art of Living Prison SMART 866-673-8999, prisonsmart@iahv.org 
  18. Avodah Dance Ensemble, dance programming at Bedford Hills CF, avodahdance@gmail.com
  19. Hip Hop Justice Radio 94.9 FM Hudson Valley, NY 
  20. Milk Not Jails (917) 719-MILK, milknotjails@gmail.com 
  21. Theatre of the Oppressed NYC (646) 504-4582, info@theatreoftheoppressednyc.org
  22. RELEASED – Center for Employment Opportunities Jeyhoun Allebaugh, jeyhoun@gmail.com
  23. Carnegie Hall Musical Connections (at Sing Sing CF) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  24. Carnegie Hall’s Lullaby Project (at the Rose M. Singer Center at Rikers Island) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  25. Theatre-in-Education: Prison Production juliagtaylor@gmail.com 
  26. Public Theatre – The Mobile Unit 212-539-8500, marketing@publictheater.org
  27. New York Writers Coalition (NYWC) – Formerly Incarcerated/Prison Writers Program Nancy Weber, nancy@nywriterscoalition.org
  28. Think Outside the Cell (877) 267-2303, thinkoutsidethecell@verizon.net
  29. The Young New Yorkers Restorative justice through public art
  30. Lyrics from Lockdown National tour of hip hopera
  31. Prisoner Express (distance learning available to people in prison across the US)  Treacy Ziegler, treacyziegler@yahoo.com
  32. The Phoenix Players Theatre Group Bruce Levitt, BAL5@cornell.edu
  33. Attica Correctional Facility – The Attica Writer’s Workshop and the Attica – Genesee Teaching Project Doran Larson, dlarson@hamilton.edu
  34. Truthworker Theatre Company truthworker@gmail.com, 917-771-7475
  35. Music on the Inside Alina Bloomgarden, info@musicontheinside.org, 212-580-6225
  36. Prison Writes Therapeutic, advocacy, memoir writing
  37. Theater Across Prison Walls Rivka Rocchio, rocchisr@potsdam.edu
  38. Sarah Lawrence College Right-to-Write partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  39. Four Minutes a Day goochlm@gmail.com
  40. Dances for Solidarity dancesforsolidarity@gmail.com
  41. The Town Hall lnoble@thetownhall.org
  42. Musicambia jessie@musicambia.org
  43. Flex Dance Program flexdanceprogram@gmail.com
  44. Otisville Theatre Workshop: Acting Out richardhoehler@ymail.com, 917-767-1550
  45. Center for Court Innovation Arts and Justice initiatives

Pennsylvania

  1. Mural Arts Program Restorative Justice Robyn Buseman, robyn.buseman@muralarts.org, 215-685-0756
  2. The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program Steven Shankman, 215-204-5163, insideout@temple.edu
  3. Words Without Walls info@wordswithoutwalls.com
  4. SageWriters Judith Trustone, 610-328-6101, info@Sagewriters.org
  5. The Pennsylvania Prison Society – The Working Group to Enhance Services for Incarcerated Women Ann Schwartzman, 215.564.6005, baizenman@prisonsociety.org
  6. Books Through Bars 215-727-8170, info@booksthroughbars.org
  7. Pennsylvania Horticultural Society Roots to Re-Entry Project
  8. Brush With the Law at Montgomery County Correctional FacilityMaria Maneos
  9. The People’s Paper Co-op
  10. Shining Light performing arts, Jeffrey Bohn jeff@shining-light.com
  11. Songs in the Key of Free songwriting, musicianship, concerts
  12. Lifelines Project lifelinesphilly@gmail.com
  13. Heart2Heart: Comienzos East info@heart2heartinc.org
  14. Youth Art & Self-Empowerment Project info@yasproject.com or 267-571-YASP

New Jersey

  1. The Institute for Prison Teaching and Outreach Literary Magazine, cpoe@tcnj.edu
  2. Perkins Center for the Arts create@perkinscenter.org
  3. NJ State Prison in Trenton Susanne Pitak Davis, Pitak1@earthlink.net
  4. Writers Theatre of New Jersey education@wtnj.org
  5. The New Jersey Scholarship and Transformative Education in Prisons Consortium (NJ-STEP) jeff.melillo@rutgers.edu , diamond7@scarletmail.rutgers.edu
  6. Heart2Heart: Comienzos East info@heart2heartinc.org

Washington, D.C.

  1. Free Minds Book Club (202) 758-0829, mail@freemindsbookclub.org
  2. Prison Fellowship International International art competitions and exhibitions
  3. Safe Streets Arts Foundation Dennis Sobin, dennis@safestreetsarts.org
  4. Prisons Foundation Dennis Sobin, Dennis@prisonsfoundation.org
  5. Blackout Arts Collective dc@blackoutartscollective.com
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. Voices Unbarred lori@voicesunbarred.com, (571) 357-2049
  8. Georgetown Prison Scholars Program prisonandjustice@georgetown.edu
  9. DC Books to Prisoners
  10. Lorton Art Program lortonart@verizon.net