Mid-Atlantic

Please note: the Justice Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

New York

  1. Rehabilitation Through the Arts 914-251-7540 or info@rta-arts.org
  2. The Fortune Society 347-510-3668 or www.fortunesociety.org
  3. The Creative ‘Righting’ Center Long-distance program (see Indiana)
  4. CASES Insight Project  212-553-6633, info@cases.org
  5. NY State Literary Center Dale Davis, 585-223-0784, ddavis@nyslc.org
  6. PEN American Center Prison Writing Program prisonwriting@pen.org
  7. Bard Prison Initiative 845.758.7308, bpi@bard.edu
  8. Cornell Prison Education Program: Arts courses, Writer’s Bloc Literary Journal
  9. Fortune Society, (212) 691-7554, info@fortunesociety.org
  10. Right to Write, 914.337.0700, partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  11. EarSay 718-791-4324, info@earsay.org
  12. Artistic Noise Vanessa.Ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  13. The Art of Living Prison SMART 866-673-8999, prisonsmart@iahv.org 
  14. Avodah Dance Ensemble, dance programming at Bedford Hills CF, avodahdance@gmail.com
  15. Theatre of the Oppressed NYC (646) 504-4582, info@theatreoftheoppressednyc.org
  16. RELEASED – Center for Employment Opportunities Jeyhoun Allebaugh, jeyhoun@gmail.com
  17. Carnegie Hall Musical Connections (at Sing Sing CF) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  18. Carnegie Hall’s Lullaby Project (at the Rose M. Singer Center at Rikers Island) 212-903-7800, education@carnegiehall.org
  19. Public Theatre – The Mobile Unit 212-539-8500, marketing@publictheater.org
  20. New York Writers Coalition (NYWC) – Formerly Incarcerated/Prison Writers Program Nancy Weber, nancy@nywriterscoalition.org
  21. The Young New Yorkers, info@youngnewyorkers.org, 917.691.2244
  22. Lyrics from Lockdown National tour of hip hopera
  23. Prisoner Express (607) 252-6946
  24. The Phoenix Players Theatre Group Bruce Levitt, BAL5@cornell.edu
  25. Attica Correctional Facility – The Attica Writer’s Workshop and the Attica – Genesee Teaching Project Doran Larson, dlarson@hamilton.edu
  26. Truthworker Theatre Company truthworker@gmail.com, 917-771-7475
  27. Music on the Inside info@musicontheinside.org, 212-580-6225
  28. Prison Writes Therapeutic, advocacy, memoir writing
  29. Theater Across Prison Walls Rivka Rocchio, rocchisr@potsdam.edu
  30. Sarah Lawrence College Right-to-Write partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  31. Dances for Solidarity dancesforsolidarity@gmail.com
  32. The Town Hall lnoble@thetownhall.org
  33. Musicambia jessie@musicambia.org
  34. Flex Dance Program flexdanceprogram@gmail.com
  35. Otisville Theatre Workshop: Acting Out richardhoehler@ymail.com, 917-767-1550
  36. Center for Court Innovation Arts and Justice initiatives

Pennsylvania

  1. Mural Arts Program Restorative Justice Robyn Buseman, robyn.buseman@muralarts.org, 215-685-0756
  2. The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program Steven Shankman, 215-204-5163, insideout@temple.edu
  3. Words Without Walls info@wordswithoutwalls.com
  4. The Pennsylvania Prison Society – The Working Group to Enhance Services for Incarcerated Women Ann Schwartzman, 215.564.6005, baizenman@prisonsociety.org
  5. Books Through Bars 215-727-8170, info@booksthroughbars.org
  6. Pennsylvania Horticultural Society Roots to Re-Entry Project
  7. Brush With the Law at Montgomery County Correctional Facility Maria Maneos
  8. The People’s Paper Co-op
  9. Shining Light ,717.867.5472, staff@shining-light.com
  10. Songs in the Key of Free
  11. Youth Art & Self-Empowerment Project info@yasproject.com or 267-571-YASP

New Jersey

  1. The Institute for Prison Teaching and Outreach Literary Magazine, cpoe@tcnj.edu
  2. Writers Theatre of New Jersey education@wtnj.org
  3. The New Jersey Scholarship and Transformative Education in Prisons Consortium (NJ-STEP) jeff.melillo@rutgers.edu , diamond7@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Washington, D.C.

  1. Free Minds Book Club (202) 758-0829, mail@freemindsbookclub.org
  2. Prison Fellowship International International art competitions and exhibitions
  3. Safe Streets Arts Foundation staff@PrisonsFoundation.org
  4. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org
  5. Voices Unbarred lori@voicesunbarred.com, (571) 357-2049
  6. Georgetown Prison Scholars Program (202) 687-0100
  7. DC Books to Prisoners
  8. Lorton Art Program lortonart@verizon.net